Nightly Contemplations #4: old friends

Nightly Contemplations #4: old friends

8:23 pm//

Today I ran into an old friend I made at Sunday school when I was younger. We drifted apart because once Sunday school was over, we never made an effort to keep in touch. Though while talking to her I remembered why we were friends in the first place.

Usually when I talk to someone that I’ve met in the past, I always end up acting kind of awkward, though this time was different. We just talked like we were as close as we were back then. In most situations I feel very hesitant when having to talk to someone I was friends with previously because in my mind I think, we obviously have gone down separate paths, so whats the point of having to talk? Though I realized that even though they aren’t a part of my life now, they were at one point. Ignoring them would be not very nice, and technically they are a small reason to why you are the person you are today.

Sometimes, I wonder whether I would be a different person if I still had the same friends that I had as a kid. Though from seeing how a few of them turned out, to be honest I’m quite pleased that I no longer am associated with some of them. I’m happy with the people I’ve been friends with in my life, and I’m sure in the future I’ll make even more. I’m currently at that point in my life where meeting new friends that I actually love spending time with is like finding buried treasure.

Encountering people from my past is a reminder that life is constantly moving forward. For me, running into my old friend made me think about how many amazing people I’ve met in the past but haven’t put any effort into maintaining a friendship. On the other hand, I have been friends with people who now I’m happy I didn’t maintain a friendship with. Sadly, a few people I’ve been friends with in the past have —from my perspective at least, changed for the worse.

People come and go, though life moves on. 🙂

8:52 pm\\

Leave a comment